The ITIL® certification scheme consists of a series of modules focused on different aspects of ITIL® best practice. The qualification scheme offers you flexibility to choose from the different disciplines within the ITIL® framework.

ITIL® 4 shows an evolution in practices and qualification scheme. If you are currently certified with ITIL® v3 Foundation, you are encouraged to move straight to ITIL 4® Foundation to keep your skills up-to-date.

ITIL® v3 remains relevant and continues to be in demand globally by IT practitioners. it continues to provide guidance to support organizations and individuals to gain optimal value from IT and digital services.

ITIL® 4 retains many of the core elements of good IT service management, that is continuing to give value to millions of people and businesses around the globe.

All certifications for ITIL® will remain valid following the update and will continue to be recognised as valuable certifications globally. All credits gained can help you continue your ITIL journey in the new certification scheme. To enable an easy transition and maximise current investments, we recommend candidates continue to collect the 17 credits necessary to take the ITIL Managing Professional Transition Module (One course, One exam).

ITIL® 4 is a significant evolution from ITIL v3, providing a practical transition that allows organizations to adopt the new ways of working required by the digital workplace.

ITIL 4 Certification Overview There are four certifications levels within ITIL 4 scheme namely
  • ITIL 4 Foundation
  • ITIL 4 Managing Professional (available in 2021)
  • ITIL 4 Strategic Leader (available in 2021)
  • ITIL 4 Master
ITIL 4 Foundation

The Foundation level is designed as an introduction to ITIL 4 and enables candidates to look at IT service management through a BRAND NEW end-to-end operating model for creation, delivery and continual improvement of tech-enabled products and services.

ITIL Managing Professional (ITIL MP)

This stream of courses targets IT practitioners working within Technology and digital teams across businesses. The Managing Professional (MP) stream provides practical and technical knowledge about how to run successful IT projects, teams and workflows.

ITIL Strategic Leader (ITIL SL)

This stream recognizes the value of ITIL, not just for IT operations, but for all digitally enabled services. Becoming an ITIL Strategic Leader (ITIL SL) demonstrates that the professional has a clear understanding of how IT influences and directs business strategy.

To obtain the designation ITIL Managing Professional or ITIL Strategic Leader, the professional must complete all modules in each stream, with ITIL Strategist being a universal module for both streams.

ITIL 4 Master

The ITIL Master certification validates your ability to apply principles, methods and techniques from ITIL in the workplace.

To achieve the ITIL Master certification, you must be able to explain and justify how you have personally selected and applied a range of knowledge, principles, methods and techniques from the ITIL framework and supporting management techniques, to achieve desired business outcomes in one or more practical assignments.

You will be required will select a different range of professional experiences, so there is no fixed syllabus for this qualification. There is also no prescribed training course since the theory being tested will vary depending on the nature of the situation each candidate will choose.

To be eligible for the ITIL Master certification, candidates must:

  • Have achieved the ITIL Expert certificate and;
  • Have worked in IT service management for at least five years in leadership, managerial or higher management advisory levels.

In order to achieve your ITIL Master certificate, you must ensure you have extensive practical hands-on experience with ITIL and can demonstrate active involvement in implementation of the practices.

ITIL® is a registered trade mark of AXELOS Limited, used under permission of AXELOS Limited. All rights reserved.

The Swirl logo™ is a trade mark of AXELOS Limited, used under permission of AXELOS Limited. All rights reserved.